Tags

, , , ,

The amazing views of Monterosso from our paddle boat

Cinque Terre is a beautiful coastal region on the Italian Riviera known for it’s breathtaking beauty and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Ocean. So what better way to see Cinque Terre but by paddleboat?!

We actually spent a lot of time oo’ing and ahh’ing about whether to take a kayak instead. However, when I looked into the ocean and saw a bunch of people on a large paddle boat, with built in slide, I knew I had to go on one (minus the slide)! They looked like they were having so much fun! I’m actually a little afraid of the ocean, especially because I’m not sure what lurks underneath but when I looked into the oh so clear waters of the ocean, I felt at ease. We even met a couple who were hiring a kayak, and they said that they had never even kayak’ed before.

The sun was shining high in the sky and the swimmers were splashing about when we pushed our paddleboat into the Mediterranean Ocean. I almost lost my flip flops as the paddle boat floated on top of the water, but all was well when I hoisted myself into the paddle boat and gained my bearings. When we started to paddle about, we gained traction in the water and manoeuvred the boat down the strip of Ocean by Monterosso. It was amazing to see Monterosso’s beach with it’s many umbrellas and sunbathers, the cliffside where our hotel stood standing, and the paths that lead to the start of the Cinque Terre trail. We even giggled when we saw the couple that we met earlier, still on their kayak, exploring the waters close to the rocky edges of the cliff. They seemed to be doing alright considering their lack of experience in kayaking!

The experience was definitely one to remember and one I would recommend to my friends and family. Just be aware that the paddle boat is very close to the water so if you get easily sea sick, take a sea sick tablet beforehand. And make sure that you slather on some sunscreen as the sun’s rays can be extremely harsh when it reflects against the Ocean. Other than that, I say go for it! It’s the best way to see Cinque Terre from the Ocean.

Here are some photos that we took of the Ocean in Cinque Terre. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What place would you like to see by paddle boat?

If you have any questions or comments, be sure to comment below and follow me on twitter. I’m always keen to hear from fellow travelers! The world is your oyster! Happy travels!!

