Tags

, , , , , , ,

… all my life 
I’ve prayed for someone like you
And I thank God that I, that I finally found you
All my life 
I’ve prayed for someone like you
And I hope that you feel the same way too
Yes, I pray that you do love me too

–  “All My Life” by KCI & Jo Jo

I’m an 80s baby, which means that I was a tween/teen when these people ruled the R&B kingdom in the 90s; Boyz II Men, Brian McKnight, All 4 One, Mariah CareyTLC, Toni Braxton, R Kelly, Aaliyah, Ginuwine, Black Street, Next and Michael Jackson, just to name a few. I remember listening to these guys on the radio to Rick Dee’s Weekly Top 40. My little sister and I would try to record the songs using a cassette tape by waiting for Rick Dee’s to introduce the song and then quickly pressing the “record” button. I was only 11 and the cassette player was like an iPod Nano to us! To listen to the song again, we’d have to press rewind, wait a few minutes, and press play again… so high tech! When I was 17, my then boyfriend (now husband) made me a CD with all my favourite R&B songs and labeled it “mixed tape” – he is quite the charmer isn’t he?

Stepping back into the 90s

Last night, we stepped back in time to the 90s to see KCi & JoJo perform live in Enmore Theatre, Sydney. We started the night in the funky suburb of Newtown by enjoying a delicious pizza and pasta meal in some random Italian restaurant. We actually finished all of this food, except for 1 slice of pizza, which  I think was a great effort! Oh, and keep in mind that all the food couldn’t fit onto the table, so we had to put some of it on a neighboring table until we were ready to eat it. My favourite was the boscaiola pasta, it reminded me of the great food that I ate at the Amalfi Coast in Italy so this is a compliment to the chef!

Italian dinner before watching KCi & JoJo

After eating, we picked up our tickets at the Box Office and entered the Enmore Theatre to the smooth beats of DJ Mac! I’ve been to a lot of events and I haven’t heard a DJ play better than him! We found ourselves moving to the music as DJ Mac introduced the opening acts – sorry couldn’t remember who they were but they were good too.

KCi & JoJo are in the building

KCi & JoJo, Sydney Concert, 2011

We listened to the opening acts until the MC was ready to introduce KCi & JoJo! I was so excited since we were only about 6 rows from the front. These guys are R&B legends and when they first came out on stage last night, I got goose bumps! KCi even had a moment where he was carried through the crowd by the bouncer while singing to each and every one of us. I was 30 cm away from him when we took this photo. Love it!

KCi singing to the crowd, he was so close to us! (KCi & JoJo, Sydney Concert, 2011)

The concert was epic. Although it’s been decades, they managed to belt out the songs to perfection, excite the crowd and almost bring a tear or two. My favourite moment was when they exited and had not sung “All My Life” yet! You should have heard the crowd. We were in shock as this is their number one song. The crowd started chanting “All My Life, All My Life” and I was standing there in disbelief… that is… until KCi & JoJo entered back onto the stage in their sunnies and baggy clothes just as they had worn in the their 90s video clip of “All My Life”. I can’t even begin to explain the buzz that we had! So… I thought I’d attach the video that I recorded so that I can bring you along for the ride.

My favourite moment was near the end where JoJo (who has been through a lot in the past few years) thanked KCi for being like a a great brother to him and he sang the last few words of the song. I’m sure this brought a tear to the eye of even the most toughest of the crowd…

… all my life 
I’ve prayed for someone like you
And I thank God that I, that I finally found you
All my life 
I’ve prayed for someone like you
And I hope that you feel the same way too
Yes, I pray that you do love me too

It’s all about the music to these guys and I think that’s why their fans still remember them decades later! God bless KCi & JoJo and may you and the rest of the R&B kingdom come back for repeat performances in Sydney!

What are your favourite songs from the 90s? Comment below!

