Tags

, , , , , , ,

London is such a cosmopolitan city so it is no surprise that there is an abundance of cuisines from various cultures. As I mentioned in my previous post, our friends Christel and Eirik came to visit us all the way from Norway. We wanted to show them our favourite places to eat in London so when they asked to eat something different, I took them to eat at Mem &  Laz.

Enjoying a nice meal at Mem & Laz

Mem & Laz has been a favourite of mine since our friends took us there on day 2 of our London adventures, so it was only polite to share the love with our visitors. So once again, I gathered whoever was available and we dined on delicious seafood and meat dishes all night long.

When I say all night long, I actually mean it. We started dinner at 8.30pm and finished our meals close to midnight. We were having such a great time, that time flew by.

We enjoyed starters of warm Mediterranean bread and mixed olives and then ate our way through the mains which we washed down with some good wine.

The brassiere has quite a relaxed feel but is buzzing with activity from both patrons and staff. The table next to us was celebrating a birthday, so the staff gave the birthday girl a complimentary cake and danced a traditional dance with her (well kind of!). The entire place was buzzing with applause and laughter, it was quite the scene!

Rick thoroughly enjoyed the M & L mixed grilled and I devoured the sautéed seafood.

The best thing about Mediterranean cooking is that the servings are large and have so much flavour. The dishes may not look pretty and petite but that’s because they are made with a great deal of love and care! I can’t stop thinking about the seafood which is nicely sautéed in white wine, garlic and lemon juice. The flavours soaked into the rice which I heartily ate.

M & L Mixed Grill at Mem & Laz

Sauteed Seafood at Mem & Laz

It gets better…

We topped off our meal with dessert which included banoffee pie and panacotta with berry sauce. I highly recommend both but my favourite was the banoffee pie! Who can resist toffee, cream and bananas? I know that I cannot!

Banoffee Pie at Mem & Laz

Panacotta with berry sauce at Mem & Laz

The food was certainly perfect to line our stomachs for the big night out that we had planned.

Craving for Mediterranean food?

Check it out here: 8 Theberton Street Islington, London, Greater London N1 0QX, United Kingdom
Nearest Tube: Angel
Phone: 020 7704 9089
Website: http://www.memlaz.com

Where is your favourite place to eat and why?

If you like this post, please click on the subscribe button and follow me on twitter! There’s plenty more food and travel adventures to share!

