Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Do you want to swim in water so clear and so blue that you will feel like you are looking through glass? 

Do you want to jump into the Ocean and not worry about sea creatures that may linger below?

This is our experience in the Gulf of Orosei, Sardinia.

Italy’s best kept secret – Gulf of Orosei

I’ll let you in on a little secret. Sardinia was never on my list of places to see. But one day, I read my lonely planet guide of Italy and I fell in love with the fact that Sardinia is relatively undisturbed by tourists and maintains its old world charm.

Preparing to take a boat at the Gulf of Orosei, Sardinia

We stayed in a small village named Cala Gonone, which is near the Gulf of Orosei. My friends and I decided that the best way to see the coastline was by boat. We booked ourselves in for a full day boat tour, slopped on some sunscreen and slapped on a hat and away we went.

The sun was shining and our boat was running full speed as we left the port. I remember looking back and seeing the beautiful colour of the water and then looking down to see the bottom of the ocean – it was that clear.

Leaving the port as we begin our tour along The Gulf of Orosei, Sardinia

As we explored the coastline, we looked up at the cliffs and inside caves that contained water so clear that you could see the colourful fish swimming beneath the boat.

The Gulf of Orosei, Sardinia

Every now and then, the driver would stop and let us explore the pebbled beaches that were only accessible by boat. The pebbles feel funny against your feet at first but after awhile, you get used to it.

Relaxing at Gulf of Orosei, Sardinia

Rick and I were happy to just sit and relax in the sun before taking a dip in the water. I found myself paddling on my back to soak in the atmosphere and then paddling around as I admired the cliffside. I kept looking down at my hands and feet which I could see clearly through the water. I felt like I was swimming in a big bath tub that was the Ocean! I’ve never seen water so clear and so blue, even during my trip to Portugal.

I couldn’t get enough of the pebbled beaches of Gulf of Olbia, Sardinia

Rick swam along with me and also found the caves really interesting. He explored the inside of caves along the pebbled beaches; caves which were set within the cliff side and untouched by tourists.

Exploring the caves at Gulf of Orosei, Sardinia

One of my favourite parts of the experience was when the boat driver ancored the boat in the middle of the ocean and told us to jump out. My friends and I were uncertain at first, then thought “What the heck, we’re only in Sardinia once!” So we looked down into the ocean, closed our eyes and took a leap!

Well… that’s what they did anyway. I needed some coercing but finally made it. I swam a good 5 minutes before getting tired. The water was so refreshing and it was a great feeling to know that the only creatures beneath your feet were the tiny schools of fish. It was quite a freeing experience!

Rick and I jumped off the boat to swim in the ocean

We really enjoyed our time at the Gulf of Orosei because of the pebbled beaches, beautiful cliff sides and clear blue waters of the ocean. In my next post, I’ll compare the pebbled beaches of the Gulf of Orosei to the golden sand beaches of Costa Verde.

Do you know of any other best kept secrets in Europe?

If you enjoyed this post, please click on the subscribe button and follow me on twitter. Happy travels!

Related links:

