Tags

, , , , ,

I went to Milan for one hour and loved it!

No seriously, I did!

During our trip to Lake Como, my thoughts kept returning back to Milan. When I last visited Milan, it was during our honeymoon last year and I was a fledgling Europe traveler. I wanted to return back to Milan to see whether the magic was still there. It still was!

Milan is less than 2 hours away from Bellagio, but we had a flight to Sardinia in the afternoon so we only really had an hour to spare before we made our way to the airport.

How did we do it?

It was not easy but nothing worth doing is ever easy! We woke up at 5am and took the earliest ferry from Bellagio and made our way to the neighboring village of Lecco. I am not a morning person so this was a major sacrifice!

View of Lake Como by ferry

When we arrived in Lecco, we saw other fellow travelers who were waiting for the train to Milan. We asked them where the ticket desk was and found out that there was no way to purchase a ticket – strange but I’m not surprised as sometimes there is a ticket man on Italian trains (sometimes there is not!).

We hopped into the express train from Lecco to Milan and enjoyed the view of the various villages between these destinations. By the way – the ticket man never arrived!

When we arrived in Milan, I had to quickly adapt to the change of scenery. We had just been in the beautiful lake district of Lake Como and were now staring straight into the eyes of Italy’s fashion capital!

Here are some of the reasons why we did not regret our very last-minute decision to squeeze Milan into our itinerary:

1. The Duomo of Milan is breathtaking

From outside of the Duomo we loved gazing at the intricate architecture. We also enjoyed people watching as we sat outside. The Milanese are known for their fashion sense and I was noting down every style for future outfits. I learn a lot about fashion when traveling in Italy!

Rick and I at the Duomo of Milan (Milan’s Cathedral)

We also enjoyed a quick walk through the church’s extravagant interior.

Duomo of Milan

2. Visit Milan’s Luxurious Mall – Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II

Walking through the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II is like walking through a shopper’s dream. The mall show cases high-end Italian brands in a structure that looks more to me like a Palace.

I included this picture below because it was funny to see the golden arches in such a prestigious location! Look to the bottom left of this photo. They serve pistachio sundaes there if you’re interested.

Inside of the Gallerio Vittorio Emanuele II

Outside of the Gallerio Vittorio Emanuele II

3. Spin on the bulls balls

Do you need some good luck?

If so, then while still in the mall, locate the tiled image of a prancing bull and spin on the bulls balls. I needed some extra luck so I  spun until I was dizzy. If you feel a bit silly doing this, don’t! Even the locals think that it is good luck and I saw many stop to do their spin before continuing along their merry way.

Spin for good luck!

Do you know of any other places in the world where you have to spin on something for good luck?

If you could choose one place in the world to spend one hour in, which place would it be?

Comment below and let me know!

My next posts will be about Amsterdam and Verona. I may also include more food posts so comment if you want that too!

Also, if you like this blog, click on the subscribe button and follow me on twitter. Happy travels!

Related links:

