Tags

, , , , , ,

The No 35. restaurant was one of the sets for the hit movie Notting Hill, starring two of my favourite stars Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts.

Love the movie? Then follow Hugh Grant and Julia Robert’s footsteps into the No. 35 restaurant.

The No. 35 is located near Queensway in London, one of my favourite places to explore! So when my friend found a timeout voucher to try out the menu for £29.50 per person, you didn’t have to ask me twice.

The No. 35 is located in the Hempel Hotel, which is tucked away in what seemed like a residential location. The hotel exterior was one similar to an old English manner which oozed charm and sophistication. When I first walked in, I noticed the dimly hit lobby between the No. 31 bar and the No. 35 restaurant. My friends and I sat in the coziness of the bar with a cocktail in hand as we waited for our table to be arranged. It felt like a restaurant that the girls in Sex in the City would have frequented, but in the glamorous city of London rather than the equally glamorous city of NYC.

By the way, I’ve always considered myself a Charlotte, but have started to realise that I am actually a cross between Charlotte and Miranda! Which one was your favourite character?

When our table was ready, we were guided to the romantically lit room of the No. 35 restaurant. The restaurant itself was the scene of sophistication and I was impressed by their attention to detail. If you look at the picture above, our table was set with a plate that displayed the No. 35 logo. Each plate was different and I felt that they added a funky feel to the place!

What was equally impressive was the selection of food on the menu. The menu changes regularly depending on season and fresh produce available so do not expect to get the same selection as what I describe here. For my entrée, I ordered the Trio of Organic Duck which consisted of cured breast, potted leg, poached egg and pickled vegetables.The duck’s egg entrée was poached but was in the shape of a perfectly formed egg. This is true craftmanship. When I dipped my spoon into the duck’s egg, the yolk was bright yellow and perfectly cooked with a smooth texture. I dare say that the duck’s egg was better than the one that I tried at Maze, Gordan Ramsey’s restaurant in Melbourne!

Tucking into the duck’s egg entree from No. 35 restaurant

My  main meal was the Line Caught Wild Seabass with scottish girolles, grilled leeks, crab & sweetcorn risotto. I do enjoy eating fish and for some reason, the kind that swims out in the wild is even more tastier! The fish was simply cooked and the risotto was a nice accompaniment to the grilled leeks. We finished the meal with a selection of desserts such as tart of black fig, cinnamon ice-cream with apple tart, and chocolate mouse with kahlua ice-cream. The desserts gave us such as rush of sugar that kept us talking incessantly for hours! A nice end to a lovely night out with the girls!


