Tags

, , , ,

“I don’t want a lot for Christmas
There’s just one thing I need
I don’t care about the presents
Underneath the Christmas tree…”

Doesn’t Mariah Carey’s song make you want to get up and dance? It does for me. Whenever I listen to this song, I think about my family Christmas parties when my cousins and I would dance around with the smaller cousins and siblings as if we were part of the Glee club! This song actually keeps me sane while standing in the cramped tube on the way to work each day (try it, it works!). Click here to read about my last family Christmas!

Keeping with the Christmas spirit this month, Rick and I decided to go to Prague to celebrate Christmas in the Czech Republic. If you enjoyed my previous post about the Christmas markets in Vienna, you’ll enjoy this one. The Czech’s also know how to celebrate Christmas just as much as the Austrians do!

We visited 2 Christmas markets last weekend. They are the biggest and brightest Christmas markets in Prague:

  • Old Town Square
  • Wenceslas Square

Wenceslas Square

The Wenceslas Square Christmas Markets is the second largest in Prague. It was the first and last market that we visited. Wenceslas Square was festive with its bright lights flashing through the tree branches and lots of tasty food on sale. We spent some time exploring the markets and eating the chicken skewers and prague sausages. The beauty of these markets is that it’s community oriented. People are not afraid to share a table with strangers to eat their meal. I am not used to this arrangement but quickly warmed to the idea when the strangers smiled kindly before tucking into their food. I like to think that though we did not share the same language, we at least shared an appreciation for good food and Christmas cheer!

WenceslasSquare

Old Town Square

PragueXmas

Prague’s Old Town square holds the largest Christmas market in the city. When we first stepped into the square, the first thing I laid my eyes on was the church clock tower which looked like the tower of a fairy tale castle. There was also a freshly cut Christmas tree standing 3 storeys tall and decorated with ornaments and lights (I’ve only ever seen the plastic variety!). There were brightly lit stages with carol singers merrily singing along and lit up ornaments along the grassy patches.

PragueXmas2

We also saw lines of colourful booths selling delicious delicacies such as smoked ham, Transylvania rolls, chicken kebab skewers, deep friend langos, deep fried potato chips, burgers and the ever famous Prague sausages. We feasted on every dish possible, until we could no longer move. When our hands were so numb with cold, we drank hot chocolate. The feeling of drinking this hot chocolate could only be described in Rick’s words “the best hot chocolate in the world”! It was like drinking thick, creamy, melted chocolate. Perfect to warm you up on a winter’s day!

OldTownSquare

Can you see that it snowed? It did, and it was my first time playing in the snow! I have seen snow before, but only for a very short time before going back into the car to drive back to Salzburg (click here for that post). Surprisingly, I wasn’t afraid of the cold. I was prepared with thermals and lots of warm layers of clothes. We continued to enjoy the ambience and the winter wonderland effect of the snow. I even enjoyed jumping around the powdery snow with my snow boots.

SnowOldTownSquare

What are you up to this Christmas? Comment below, I’d love to hear about your festivities.

Other related posts and interesting reads:

