Tags

, , ,

The theme for January’s travel adventures seemed to revolve around German Castles! If you enjoyed my previous post about Neuschwanstein Castle (the inspiration for Disney’s Castle), then you will love this one! This is Linderhof Palace, which also housed the fairy tale (some say mad) King Ludwig II before he tragically died by unusual circumstances in 1886. King Ludwig II was an imagineer, an architect and more importantly… he believed in fairy tales. Linderhof Castle was designed and built from the inner workings of his mind and I must say, what a fantastic mind he had!

Imagine a large mansion built in the middle of the German countryside and in close proximity to a medieval village and lake. Here are some pictures of the surrounding countryside…

The area around Linderhoff Castle

The castle was white and had ornamental pieces decorating its exterior. I couldn’t take pictures of the inside of this castle so I will have to explain it to you. As we entered, we could tell that the King was a private person. He’s rooms were only built for one but he did not scrimp on the finer things in life. My favourite room in the house is King Ludwig’s master bedroom which was built to resemble the beautiful Chateaux De Versaille. The bed was large and covered in silk and the walls were covered in velvet. Although the King lived a life of solace, the paintings on his walls did not depict this at all. The paintings showed him in his bedroom being entertained by musicians and dancers, which was the usual past-time of most royals back then.

LinderhoffPalace

King Ludwig II did not waste any space in his Castle. Even the servants waiting areas were ornately designed and gilded in silver whereas the royal rooms were gilded in gold. The dining room had an almost magical table! To the untrained eye, it was a beautiful table. But to the trained eye, you can see that the table was built to move between the dining room and the kitchen where the servants were busily preparing meals for the King. Back when this table was functional, the table would disappear below the trap door underneath and then reappear filled with a delicious feast, fit for a King of course!

Now… I cannot mention the Castle without mentioning Munich. I traveled to the Linderhof Palace from Munich. King Ludwig II did not like Munich and apparently created fairy tale like rooms in the royal residence to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. I did not hate Munich, but I could see why the King would want to go into hiding. You either love or not love Munich. Munich is artistic and architecturally beautiful but during the one day I was in Munich, I did not feel attracted to it at all.

Munich

We wandered around Munich for a few hours but I’ll be honest, we even left my tour early as we were so bored. I was not impressed but I think it was because I had spent my time seeing two amazing castles earlier that week. My advice to you is – give Munich a chance but definitely go there as a base to visit Linderhof Castle! You won’t regret it!

Have you been to Germany? What is your favourite place?

If you like this post, click on the subscribe button and follow me on twitter. I have many more adventures to take you on!

