Tags

, , , , , ,

Krakow is second largest city in Poland and known to be one of the most beautiful. It has an important history which I will talk about in my next post, but before I get into all that, I wanted to introduce you to the food.

I have said this time and time again, but the secret to a good trip is to have a few good eats and of course good company. We had spent Friday night out and about in London town for a friend’s birthday (so much fun by the way) so by the time we arrived home I had 3 hours to sleep before we got up again for an early morning flight to Krakow. I was miserable for the first few hours since landing in Krakow. I was sleep deprived and I couldn’t get my bearings in a new city. However, when we entered Pod Wawelem restaurant, my mood changed drastically. The restaurant had friendly service and was well lit. The restaurant had a very rustic feel to it, almost as if you were visiting a friend or your local pub. Rick and I ordered a big, juicy rack of ribs and a potato pancake filled with mushrooms and beef! The serving sizes were so big that we left the majority of the vegetables on the plate (though very delicious!). The meal was of course not complete without a shot of cherry vodka (when in Krakow do as the locals do)!

Lunch at Pod Wawelem restaurant, Krakow

Lunch at Pod Wawelem restaurant, Krakow

In between sight seeing, we decided to try a traditional Polish hot chocolate at E. Wedel. My friends say that it rivals Lindt hot chocolate and Rick agrees. I’m still undecided as the best hot chocolate I have ever tasted was in Prague Christmas markets. However, the traditional Polish hot chocolate was perfect for the cold, winter’s day and had just the right amount of chocolate to give a slight sugar high!

Hot choc at E. Wedel in Krakow, Poland

Hot choc at E. Wedel in Krakow, Poland

The food love affair did not stop there. Dinner was the food highlight of our trip. We were immediately made to feel welcome the moment we stepped into Pod Baranem Restauracja. The restaurant oozed class and sophistication and they gave us just the right amount of attention in between each meal, without making us feel overwelmed. The service at Pod Baranem was first class, as was the food! Rick and I devoured steamed, russian-style dumplings filled with cheese, meat dumplings in rich chicken broth, wild boar with mushroom sauce and the best steak I’ve ever tasted in my life! Add a dash of salad and fried Polish potatoes and I was in pure foodie heaven! We finished off the meal with a raspberry cake which consisted of raspberry  mousse, jelly and raspberry puree. It was quite a treat.

Dinner at Pod Baranem in Krakow, Poland

Dinner at Pod Baranem in Krakow, Poland

Ok, now that I’ve shared my foodie experience with you, what has been your favourite meal during your travels? Comment below and send me a link of your post and make sure you share some good pictures!

Restaurants I visited:

Try the traditional hot chocolate here…
  • E.Wedel Main Market Square 46, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto) for hot chocolate
Try the ribs or the pork knuckle here…
  • Pod Wawelem, Restauracja w. Gertrudy 26, Krakow 31-069, Poland (Stare Miasto)
 Try everything, it’s all good!
