Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hi guys! I haven’t written a post in a while and that’s because I have been busy enjoying the UK spring, moving house, changing jobs and exploring Europe some more. In my last post, I mentioned Florence but didn’t tell you about it! I know I totally left you hanging, so here is my belated post about Florence.

You can take a train from Pisa to Florence. This takes about an hour and is the most cost effective way to visit the two cities.

We loved Florence from the moment we laid eyes on this beautiful city. The sun was shining and everyone was out and about, whether it be the grandparents out with their children and grand babies, people riding bikes to and from work or people sitting in the plazas working on their tan. Like most places in Italy, Florence has a very family feel to it. We spent most of our time outside just absorbing the atmosphere that makes Florence one of my favourite Italian cities to date.

I’ll keep this post short and simple. My top things to do in Florence are:

1. Statue of David: It’s amazing how Michelangelo could create such a perfect sculpture out of imperfect marble that other sculptors would not touch.

2. Basilica of Santa Croce: This is my favourite church in Italy because of its neo-gothic facade and intricate, domed roof. I visited this church everyday, even if was just to dreamily look at it from all angles as if I were examining a painting.

3. The Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens: The Pitti Palace has been converted into a museum which houses many interesting pieces. We also loved exploring the Boboli Gardens for its lush greenery and also to revel at the Grotto in all it’s glory.

Now, pictures speak louder than words so enjoy the pictures and let me know which one is your favourite!

We loved enjoying the sunshine and walking along the river while people watching

The Pitti Palace and the Boboli gardens is definitely the place for fun in the sun!

florence3

Basilica of Santa Croce, the bridge and the general ambience that is Florence

florence2

Beautiful sculptures in the plaza. You can see a replica of the statue of David here.

Florence-water

Don’t you just love cities by the water? I do!

