Tags

, , , , ,

After seeing the Elephant Seals in Cambria, we continued on the LA to San Francisco Pacific Highway drive towards the seaside town of Monterey. After driving through the village, we decided to spend the majority of our time at Fisherman’s Wharf. Fisherman’s Wharf Monterey had a relaxed feel.

Monterey

We wandered the pier, admiring the yachts and enjoyed the view of the beach as the waves came crashing in.

Monterey

A Seafood Lunch

After admiring the coastal views, Rick and I decided to at at the Old Fisherman’s Grotto. Old Fisherman’s Grotto is famous for their clam chowder and was voted the Best Clam Chowder in 2012-2013 by Reader’s Choice Award and Monterey County Weekly.

Rick and I were able to enjoy the view of the beach while tucking into clam chowder and  fried calamari to start. I enjoyed my extremely large serving of Seafood Puttanesca which is salmon, shrimp, scallops and tomatoes on a bed of pasta. Rick heartily ate the fisherman’s wharf platter, which consisted of dungeness crab, grilled shrimp, scallops, crab cake on top of sweet corn risotto and sautéed organic vegetables.

Old Fisherman's Grotto, Monterey

The seafood was so fresh and tasty that Rick and I kept eating off each other’s plates! The sweet corn risotto deserves a special mention because the sweet corn added a lovely taste to the risotto. Once I had a spoonful of risotto, it was difficult not to eat the entire portion! Lucky for me, we both like to share our food!

Chocolate for Dessert

To satisfy my sweet tooth, I couldn’t help but walk past but walk past the Wharf Chocolate Factory which sold candy and chocolates by the ounce. We bought one slab of peanut butter chocolate and one slab of white chocolate. We needed the sugar to get us through the 4 hour drive to San Francisco.

Wharf Chocolate Factory

What is your favourite type of dessert? Comment below and share your posts! Let’s connect!

Want to read more about exciting travel adventures?

To continue reading about my US trip, subscribe now and follow me on twitter! Let’s connect!

I will be blogging every day during the month of July for the Ultimate Blog Challenge. If you are interested in generating more traffic for your blog or just having more fun with it, then feel free to join! It’s absolutely free so why not challenge yourself.

Join me on the…

