Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am 30 now…

Am I supposed to feel different?

I do not feel different. I still have a love for travel, culture, fairy tales, European royalty, enchanted Castles and maintain my obsession with food.

I do not think that turning 30 can make a person change overnight. What I do think is that I have changed since moving to London. I stress less. I spend more time with positive people. I laugh more often. I enjoy the little things even more than I used to. I also appreciate all my blessings: my family, my friends, my job opportunities and my chance to experience more of the world. I count my blessings every day.

Life is good and it’s only going to get better!

My lovely husband organised for me to celebrate my 30 years on this earth in 3 countries: Seattle (USA), London (UK) and Santorini (Greece).

Sleepless in Seattle

We arrived in Seattle on a sunny day and went straight to our hotel. We were staying in the centre of the city so it was easy to meet everyone for drinks. We had a good time catching up with friends who had been traveling the East and West Coast and others who were now “local” to Seattle.

Catching up with the bride-to-be on the day before her wedding, Seattle

Catching up with the bride-to-be on the day before her wedding, Seattle

After drinks, a bunch of us went to Anthony’s Pier 66 for my birthday dinner. Anthony’s Pier 66 has amazing waterfront views of Seattle’s Pier. We enjoyed a delicious seafood dinner of oysters, scallops and fish which was only made better by the amazing sunset.

Anthony's Pier 66

Anthony’s Pier 66: oysters, scallops and birthday cake and friends shot (anti clock-wise)

The service at Anthony’s Pier 66 was impeccable. The waiter was so upbeat that you couldn’t help but be upbeat with him! He suggested some great food options and even brought out a cake for me for my birthday! It was a nice surprise!

Living it up in London

How can I not celebrate my birthday in my ‘home’ town? In London, we made cocktails for our guests at our home, followed by dinner at La Farola for some Spanish tapas. I was spoilt with lots of fun and laughter and showered with thoughtful gifts.

My favourite dishes at La Farola: Paella, zucchini flowers, croquettes, sardines on toast.

My favourite dishes at La Farola: Paella, zucchini flowers, croquettes, sardines on toast.

La Farola also has some amazing cocktails so we tried a few martinis and jars of sangria!

LondonBday

I was lucky to have two birthday cakes: a Hello Kitty cake with a British Flag t-shirt seemed appropriate and a cake specially made for me by my friend Andrea. It had white cream icing on the outside and pink layers of mud cake on the inside! She is a banker but I really think she should start  a food business. Her attention to detail is amazing and the cake was delicious. What do you think of her cake?

My birthday cakes and my presents. I was so spoilt!

My birthday cakes and my presents. I was so spoilt!

When the cakes were brought out, the staff of La Farola dimmed the lights and put on the song ‘Happy Birthday to you’. They had my entire party plus the restaurant guests singing and clapping to the music. It was amazing!

After eating our way through many courses of Spanish tapas, we danced the night away in West London with the rest of our expat friends!

Sunset in Santorini

As part of my birthday present, Rick took me to Santorini. We flew to Santorini on the day of my birthday and had two amazing dinners at Floga and Naoussa Restaurant. I felt blessed to be watching the Santorini sunset with the love of my life.

The day I turned 30: Dinner at Floga, Santorini

The day I turned 30: Dinner at Floga, Santorini

To top it off, I was also receiving messages, texts, emails and letters from loved ones back at home and that made me feel so special. I could not have asked for or dreamed of a better 30th birthday!

My birthday cakes at Floga Restaurant and Naoussa Restaurant

My birthday cakes at Floga Restaurant and Naoussa Restaurant

Where was your favourite birthday location and how was it? Comment below and let me know!

Want to read more about exciting travel adventures?

To continue reading about my Santorini trip, subscribe now and follow me on twitter! I have also finally created a Facebook page so would love it if you like it! Let’s connect!

I will be blogging every day during the month of July for the Ultimate Blog Challenge. If you are interested in generating more traffic for your blog or just having more fun with it, then feel free to join! It’s absolutely free so why not challenge yourself.

