Tags

, , , ,

For me, food is important when visiting a place.It gives you a taste of the culture and allows you to sample fresh, local ingredients. Finding the right place can be difficult so I have made it easy for you by giving you my top 4 best restaurants in Santorini. My recommendations are based purely on the taste factor (i.e. how impressed I was when I took the first bite) and the sunset factor (i.e. whether they give you a prime position to see the Santorini sunset)

Number 1: Naoussa Restaurant

Address:

Naoussa Restaurant 
Fira Santorini Greece
Thira, 84700
(Near the Central Orthodox Cathedral)
 

Why I like it:

  • The lobster spaghetti was so fresh and packed full of flavour. The spaghetti was the right thickness and the red sauce had the fresh flavours of herbs and caramelised onions. The 1.5 kg lobster had been grilled to perfection which is difficult to do with a lobster so large. I have eaten my fair share of lobster spaghetti during my European adventures and I admit that this one is the best so far!
  • The tomato fritters (aka Santorini Tomato Balls) were packed full of flavour. You could taste the rich flavour of the ripe red tomatoes that are grown locally in Santorini. The fava bean dip was also a crowd pleaser  and caused us to consume an excessive amount of bread!
  • It was our first time in Fira. We spent half an hour wandering around and finally called the restaurant to let them know. They knew it was my birthday dinner so they kindly sent someone to pick us up and guide us to the correct location. Now that is great service!
  • Last but not least, they remembered that we had made a reservation because it was my 30th birthday. “Do you think I forgot that it is your birthday?“, they said to me kindly as they brought out a complimentary cake and candle on top. When the candle light blew out from the wind, they rushed back to the table to make sure that the flame remained burning until I had time to blow it out and make a birthday wish. Awe, so sweet!
The view from Naoussa Restaurant, Fira

The view from Naoussa Restaurant, Fira

The lobster spaghetti was the best I have ever had!

Naoussa Restaurant (clockwise): Lobster Spaghetti, Santorini Tomato Fritters, Rick and I, Fava Dip

Naoussa Restaurant (clockwise): Lobster Spaghetti, Santorini Tomato Fritters, Rick and I, Fava Dip

Number 2: Floga Restuarant

Address:

Floga Restuarant 
Main Street, Oia 84702, Greece
(A few minutes walk from the bus stop in Oia)

Why I like it:

  • Floga is located in a quiet area of Oia and has a romantic atmosphere. Our table was located on the terrace so we could feel the cool, night breeze as we enjoyed the view of the caldera and the rest of Oia.
  • My favourite part of the meal was the angel hair wrapped prawns, lamb shanks and seafood risotto.
  • The staff were attentive and cheerful which made us feel comfortable. When it was time to bring out dessert, they even lit a sparkler and placed it on my cake. “Happy birthday Miss Christine” they said with a big smile! Awe, another lovely birthday memory!
Seafood risotto at Floga Restaurant, Oia, Santorini

Seafood risotto at Floga Restaurant, Oia, Santorini

An epic view of Oia  and equally amazing food!

Enjoying the view at Floga Restaurant, Oia, Santorini

Enjoying the view at Floga Restaurant, Oia, Santorini

Number 3: Ochre Wine and Bistro

Address:

Ochre Wine Bistro
On the way to Ammoudi Bay, next to windmill, Oia 84702, Greece
Located at the very edge of Oia (also near the swimming pool)

Why I like it:

  • Ochre was my favourite restaurant to experience the Santorini Sunset because it is located at the edge of Oia. If you want to experience unobstructed views of the sunset without the buzzing crowds, then book Ochre!
  • Ochre has a romantic, outdoor setting which is perfect during summer. They even provide you with blankets after the sun has set so that you can continue to eat your dinner, despite the cool night air.
  • Ochre does great seafood! My husband enjoyed the barley shaped pasta in a creamy sauce, topped with large shrimps and muscles. I heartily enjoyed the home-cooked pasta mixed with fresh tomato based sauce and a decent serving of large shrimp.
Ochre Wine and Bistro (clockwise): seafood with barley shaped pasta, Outdoor dining in Ochre, home-made shrimp pasta, greek salad

Ochre Wine and Bistro (clockwise): seafood with barley shaped pasta, Outdoor dining in Ochre, home-made shrimp pasta, greek salad

Such a beautiful, quiet setting to enjoy a romantic Santorini sunset!

Enjoying the Santorini Sunset at Ochre Wine and Bistro in Oia, Santorini

Enjoying the Santorini Sunset at Ochre Wine and Bistro in Oia, Santorini

Number 4: Kastro

Address:

Kastro
In the area called Castro which means “The Castle” in Greek
Find the Castle and you will find Castro just below it to the right

Why I like it:

  • Kastro is located at the most northern point and on highest side of the island. This gives great access to experience the Santorini Sunset. If you want to enjoy a lively atmosphere, then this is the place to be. The crowds gather near the Castle area just before sunset, so there is a sense of excitement in the area that surrounds the restaurant. Once the sun disappears behind the horizon, the entire place roars with excitement and applause.
  • We enjoyed eating the bruschetta which consisted of pitted olives, feta cheese and Santorini tomatoes. I don’t even like olives but I ate it all up!
  • I really enjoyed  my shrimp pasta because the pasta had the texture of noodles and the tomato sauce had the fresh flavour of juicy, red Santorini tomatoes. Can you tell that I love Santorini tomatoes?
Rick and I enjoying the sunset at Kastro Restaurant in Oia, Santorini

Rick and I enjoying the sunset at Kastro Restaurant in Oia, Santorini

The shrimp pasta was packed with flavour and I even ate the bruschetta despite the fact that I don’t like Olives!

KastroRestaurant2

Kastro Restaurant (clockwise): Bruschetta, Shrimp Spaghetti, Meatballs, Enjoying a pina colada

Which view and food selection did you like the most?

Do you have any other recommendations for top restaurants in Santorini? Comment below and let us know. 

Get inspired or get hungry

If you want travel or food inspirationsubscribe here, follow me on Facebook and twitter!

I will be blogging every day during the month of July for the Ultimate Blog Challenge. If you are interested in generating more traffic for your blog or just having more fun with it, then feel free to join! It’s absolutely free so why not challenge yourself.