Tags

, , , ,

Imagine this. The feeling of being on top of the world after walking almost 4km through rugged terrain to finally reach a flat piece of rock that overlooks epic views of forests, waterfalls and lakes.

This is Preikestolen, otherwise known as Pulpit Rock. Preikestolen is a large, flat rock that forms part of a massive cliff and can only be reached by foot.

pulpitrock

How did we reach Preikestolen (Pulpit Rock)?

Unlike many of my trips, our trip to Stavenger, Norway, was very last minute. Within the week we had booked hotels in Stavenger, hired a car and off we went on a 2 hour drive to find the beginning of the path to Preikestolen (Pulpit Rock).

When we reached the Preikestolen parking lot, we prepared for the big hike. With sports clothing, ski jackets and walking shoes in tow, we were ready to rumble!

pulpitrock1

The path started easy enough. It looked like a clear path but this was not an indication of the actual trek itself. The path difficulty varied between rocky paths that you could step through, boulder like trails, to even rockier paths that resembled a rocky avalanche.

Not one step was the same.

I overheard a Norwegian person grumble “They have made this path too easy just for the tourists!”

I found that comment interesting because as I turned to my party of hikers, we all looked disheveled as we panted up the mountain. We did not think it was an easy hike.

pulpitrock2

We did however think it was a wonderful hike. Every step we took required a decision because each rock was different. We could have run up that mountain like many others, but we wanted to enjoy the scenery along the way. We stopped by look-out points where all we could see was endless forest. We sat by the water’s edge of lake which was like an oasis to us. Every moment was interesting until the final moment when we finally saw Preikestolen (Pulpit Rock).

We knew that we had made it to the end of the hike when we saw this beautiful, flat rock jutting out of the cliff side.

From the tip of Preikestolen was an amazing view of the forest, rivers and valleys below. We stood at the top for about 20 minutes enjoying the end of our journey. It had taken us 4 hours (a little longer than usual), but what was important, was that we made it! We felt on top of the world!

pulpitrock3

We started chatting to some Aussie women, who we had met during the hike. They were laughing about how crazy we were to stand so close to the edge of the cliff (except me who was much further from the edge than my friends were!).

They said “Don’t show your mum that picture” as they giggled at the thought of our horrified mothers.

I laughed and said “I just told my mother that I was taking a walk in Norway”.

Ok the walk turned out to be more of a hike, but I survived didn’t I? When I showed my mum the picture, she was shocked at how far we hiked but was happy to see such beautiful views.

pulpitrock5

Would I do it again? Absolutely!

Have you ever done a similar trek in Norway or Europe? Comment below and let me know.

Useful information if you are going to do the trek:

Get inspired or get hungry

If you want travel or food inspirationsubscribe here, follow me on Facebook and twitter! I share a lot of food photos on my Facebook so don’t be afraid to share some of yours! Let’s connect. I will be blogging from Malaga later this month, so stay tuned for some sunny Spain adventures 🙂

