Tags

, , , , , ,

Ever since I was a child, I’ve always wanted to take my parents somewhere special. Sending them to London and taking them around Europe was my way to thank them for all their hard work during my child hood and beyond. They always did everything that they could to make our lives comfortable and to support our goals.

My parents had me at the age of 21 and later had my 3 siblings to take care of so Europe was something they knew they wanted to do later in life. They had 3 children by the time they were my age, so I can imagine how busy they would have been! It’s my turn to repay them for paying for the piano lessons and maths tutoring, taking me to my kiddie basketball games and the countless hours they spent putting together lego, colouring in books and making coloured play dough from scratch! I don’t even think I can come close to repaying them for everything they have done but at least they can experience the London life for the 3 weeks they were here!

Dad had celebrated his birthday in August and mum’s birthday was in October, so I thought it was fitting to take them somewhere extra special to celebrate.

The first restaurant that came to mind was The Ritz London. I have written about The Ritz London in a past post. They  host the most exquisite High Tea that I have ever been to (you can read about my experience here).

One of my inspirations for taking my parents to The Ritz came from a book that my Aunt had told me about. It is called  “1000 things places to see before you die: A Traveler’s Life”. My Aunt (another inspirational women in my life) carries this book with her during her travels and has managed to tick off a chunk of places on the list. Now my parents can tick off  ‘The Ritz London’ from their bucket list too!

theritz1

When we first entered The Ritz, we were greeted by the lovely doormen who directed us to the main restaurant. We could hear the piano playing as the doors opened to a well lit foyer. We saw beautifully arranged vintage furniture, antique mirrors and sparkling chandeliers. It was like walking into a European palace. My parents were amazed and after seeing the look on their faces, I knew I had taken them to the right place.

The Ritz London

We sipped champagne and dined on a beautiful three course meal, while enjoying each other’s company. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. We couldn’t’ have asked for a better dining experience.

theritz5

theritz4

At the end of the night, the waiter brought out a freshly made Victorian sponge filled with fresh fruit and tied with a bow that displayed The Ritz London logo. The waiter lit the candle and my parents made a birthday wish. The cake was packed away in a Ritz box so we could enjoy it the next day. It was such a great night and I’m really happy to have shared this with my husband and my parents.

theritz3

What is your favourite birthday location or memory? Comment below and let me know! I’d love to read about it.

Get inspired or get hungry

If you want travel or food inspirationsubscribe here, follow me on Facebook and twitter! I share a lot of food photos on my Facebook so don’t be afraid to share some of yours! Let’s connect.

